I am now accessing as a :

Government Of Assam Environment & Forest

People’s Biodiversity Register

One of the mandates of the Biodiversity Board is to prepare Peoples’ Biodiversity Registers (PBR) involving the local communities. The register shall contain comprehensive information on availability and knowledge of local biological resources, their medicinal or any other use or any other traditional knowledge associated with them. PBR is not simply a register with names of species and their distribution in a given area but it is a comprehensive data base recording peoples’ traditional knowledge and insight of the status, uses, history, ongoing changes and forces driving these changes on the biological diversity resources of their own localities. This will also provide information on the current utilization patterns of biodiversity, its economic benefits to the local communities. The registers form a baseline data for future management strategies required for the sustainable utilization of biodiversity in a decentralized manner. Further, it helps equitable sharing of benefits arising out of commercial utilization of biodiversity resources and knowledge on their uses. The Biodiversity Register offers conservation, protection of IPR and the traditional knowledge.

The Assam State Biodiversity Board released an amount of Rs. 50,000/-per Biodiversity Management Committee (BMC) for initiating the PBR works for 133 Biodiversity Management Committees (BMC)s.

Details of final and approved People's Biodiversity Registers (PBR) of ASBB:

Sr. No.DistrictForest DivisionName of the BMCName of the TSGDate of approval
1.NagaonNagaon DivisionLowkhowa Anchalik BMCNagaon District12/12/2014
2.NagaonNagaon DivisionPakhimoria Anchalik BMCNagaon District12/12/2014
3.NagaonNagaon DivisionKoliabor Anchalik Panchayat BMCNagaon District12/12/2014
4.NagaonNagaon DivisionKoliabor Anchalik Panchayat BMCNagaon District12/12/2014
5.NagaonNagaon South DivisionDhalpukhuri Anchalik BMCNagaon District12/12/2014
6.SonitpurSonitpur West DivisionBihaguri Anchalik BMCSonitpur District15/02/2017
7.SonitpurSonitpur West DivisionBalipara Anchalik BMCSonitpur District15/02/2017
8.SonitpurSonitpur East DivisionSootea Anchalik BMCSonitpur District15/02/2017
9.SonitpurSonitpur East DivisionBiswanath Anchalik BMCSonitpur District15/02/2017
10.SonitpurSonitpur East Division7 No Naduar Anchalik BMCSonitpur District15/02/2017
11.SonitpurSonitpur East DivisionBaghmora Anchalik BMCSonitpur District15/02/2017
12.SonitpurSonitpur East DivisionBehali Anchalik BMCSonitpur District15/02/2017
13.JorhatJorhat DivisionTitabor Anchalik BMCJorhat District21/04/2017
14.JorhatJorhat DivisionMadhya Jorhat A. P. BMC, ChipahikholaJorhat District21/04/2017
15.JorhatJorhat Division5 No. Jorhat, A. P. BMC, BaghchungJorhat District21/04/2017
16.JorhatJorhat DivisionKaliapani A. P. BMC, KaliapaniJorhat District21/04/2017
17.JorhatJorhat DivisionUttar Pachim A. P. BMC, DhekorgorahJorhat District21/04/2017
18.JorhatJorhat DivisionEast Jorhat, Selenghat Anchalik BMCJorhat District21/04/2017
19.BongaigaonAie- Valley DivisionDangtal Anchalik BMCBongaigaon District25/04/2017
20.BongaigaonAie- Valley DivisionBoitamari Anchalik BMCBongaigaon District25/04/2017
21.BongaigaonAie- Valley DivisionManikpur Anchalik BMCBongaigaon District25/04/2017
22.NalbariNorth Kamrup DivisionTihu Block BMCNalbari District03/05/2017
23.NalbariNorth Kamrup DivisionBarkhetri Block BMCNalbari District03/05/2017
24.NalbariNorth Kamrup DivisionPub Nalbari Block BMCNalbari District03/05/2017
25.NalbariNorth Kamrup DivisionPachim Nalbari Block BMCNalbari District03/05/2017